Pavel Haas Quartet


Wednesday, September 27, 2023, 7:30 PM, BHS – Bratislava Music Festival
Small Hall of SP,
Price: 20 € Concert CANCELLED

Dear Concertgoers,

We regret to inform that due to immediate illness of artist the concert on September 27th 2023 7PM, has been canceled.
Refunds will be issued to ticket holders at the Slovak Philharmonic Ticket Office.


Pavel Haas Quartet
Veronika Jarůšková
– violin I.
Marek Zwiebel – violin II.
Šimon Truszka
– viola
Peter Jarůšek
– cello


Josef Suk – Meditation on the Old Czech Chorale Saint Wenceslas for string orchestra, Op. 35a
Erich Wolfgang Korngold – String Quartet No. 3 in D major, Op. 34
Antonín Dvořák – String Quartet No. 11 in C major, Op. 61


Pavel Haas Quartet ranks amongst the best string quartets in the world. It is named after the Czech composer, a World War II victim. The war events are reflected also by two quartet pieces featured in the programme of the concert. Meditation by Josef Suk originated as a silent protest against the World War I. Suk, the second violinist of the Czech Quartet at that time, decided to balance their concerts with a Czech hymn, carrying a strong national appeal “Do not let perish us nor our descendants…” Because of the Nazi regime Erich Wolfgang Korngold was forced to emigrate from Europe. For several years he made his living in America by composing film music. The breakthrough in his work and return to classic composition is his Third Quartet, a kind of joyful exclamation in anticipation of the quickly oncoming fall of the Nazi regime and return of the world peace. Antonín Dvořák in his rather atypical “non-Slavic” String Quartet in C major let himself be inspired by a Beethoven-Schubert model. It is music of a mature composer, considered one of the peaks of his chamber work.

Pavel Haas Quartet, photo Petra Hajská

Pavel Haas Quartet, photo Petra Hajská