Andrés Orozco-Estrada, Julian Rachlin

Filarmonica della Scala

Saturday, September 23, 2023, 7:30 PM, BHS – Bratislava Music Festival
Concert Hall of SPh,
Price: 45, 39, 29 €


Filarmonica della Scala
Andrés Orozco-Estrada conductor
Julian Rachlin – violin


Gioachino Rossini – William Tell Overture
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Violin Concerto No. 3 in G major, K216
Ludwig van Beethoven – Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92

Tickets Sold Out

Admission  45, 39, 29 €      Tickets

Filarmonica della Scala orchestra was founded in 1982 by the conductor Claudio Abbado with the aim to expand the symphonic repertory of the musicians from the famous Milan opera. This outstanding ensemble, which introduced itself on BMF stage in 2008 with Daniele Gatti, will be conducted by another internationally reputed conductor this time, the Colombian Andrés Orozco-Estrada. The concert will be opened with a sparkling opera overture Guillaume Tell by Gioachino Rossini. Its melodic fragments are also familiar from ad jingles. Magnificent, virtuoso, tuneful… all these adjectives apply to Mozart’s 3rd Violin Concerto in G major, composed by the 19-year-old youth during his stay in Salzburg. The soloist will be Julian Rachlin, a violinist well-known also among our audience. Ludwig van Beethoven was extremely proud of his Seventh Symphony in the time of its premiere, declaring it one of his best works. None of its four movements is marked in slow tempo; the function of a slow part was bestowed on the second movement Allegretto whose enchanting and mysterious music has fascinated the listeners to this day. At the premiere of the Symphony in 1813 in Vienna the enthusiastic audience demanded a repetition of the movement. Since then the Symphony has ranked among Beethoven’s most popular, even iconic orchestral works. Wagner called it the “apotheosis of dance”.

Andrés Orozco-Estrada, photo Werner Kmetitsch

Julian Rachlin

Filarmonica della Scala, foto Silvia Lelli