René Jacobs, Vilde Frang

B’Rock Orchestra

Wednesday, October 4, 2023, 7:30 PM, BHS – Bratislava Music Festival
Concert Hall of SPh,
Price: 35, 30, 25 €


B’Rock Orchestra
René Jacobs
– conductor
Vilde Frang – violin


Franz Schubert – Symphony No. 8 in B minor, D759 Unfinished
Felix Mendelssohn – Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64
Felix Mendelssohn
– Symphony No. 5 in D major, Op. 107 Reformation

Admission 35, 30, 25 €      Tickets

The ensemble B’Rock Orchestra was founded by enthusiasts of Baroque music in the Belgian city of Ghent. Led by the former excellent countertenor and present conductor René Jacobs it developed into one of the best ensembles specialized in early music in a new context. The emotionally filled Unfinished Symphony by Franz Schubert with its roaring winds will contrast with Felix Mendelssohn’s 5th Symphony “Reformation”, origination of which was stimulated by the composer’s admiration for J. S. Bach’s music. The solo part of his Violin Concerto, one of the most famous and most often performed, will be rendered by the outstanding young Norwegian violinist Vilde Frang playing the precious instrument Guarneri del Gesù from 1734. These artists will likewise visit our festival for the first time.

René Jacobs


Vilde Frang

Vilde Frang, photo Marco Borggreve

B'Rock Orchestra

B’Rock Orchestra, photo Mirjam Devriendt