Mario Košik

Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra

Sunday, November 27, 2016, 7:00 PM, BHS – Bratislava Music Festival
Concert Hall of SPh,
Price: 16, 12, 8 €
Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra
Mario Košik conductor
Daniel Müller-Schott cello
Ernő von Dohnányi
Sergei Prokofiev
Alexander Moyzes
American Rhapsody Op. 47
Symphony-Concerto for cello and orchestra in E minor Op. 125
Symphony No. 4 in E flat major Op. 38

In the Year of Slovak Music we commemorate the 110th anniversary of the birth of the founder of Slovak symphonic music – Alexander Moyzes. Moyzes’s typical symphonic music is characterized by masterful thematic work, expression dominated by the epic broadness with the evolution of a grand gradation, as well as existentially deep and painful meditation.
From his 12 symphonies the Symphony No. 4 in E flat major Op. 38 (1947, rev. 1957) will sound on the festival stage.
Ernő von Dohnányi’s American Rhapsody Op. 47 (1954) was written during the composer’s final years at the Florida State University. The rhapsodically free structure of the piece boasts rich sound, folk and gospel allusions, and direct quotations of the then popular melodies (On Top of Old Smokey).

Rok slovenskej hudby 2016 logo 1 EN