Slovenský komorný orchester

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Sunday, February 12, 2023, 4:00 PM, SKO Cycle: Slovak Chamber Orchestra
Column Hall of SPh,
Price: 11 €
Slovak Chamber Orchestra
Ewald Danel
artistic leader, violin
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Violin Concerto No. 5 in A major, Turkish, K. 219
Symphony No. 29 in A major, K. 201

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, a native of Salzburg, one of the most prominent representatives of musical classicism, wrote more than six hundred works during his short life. Pianist, violinist, pedagogue, conductor, composer and, at the very beginning, especially a child prodigy who traveled all over Europe at an early age. He wrote both compositions before his twentieth birthday, one year apart. The fifth violin concerto has a classical three-part structure and is well known to the public under the nickname “Turkish”. The symphony, which is a year older, has the same key of A major as the Violin concerto. The compositions do not lack the lightness, playfulness and imagination that we naturally expect from Mozart.

The soloist of the evening will be the energetic artistic director of the Slovak Chamber Orchestra, Ewald Danel.