Amancio Guillén Cañizares

Orquestra simfònica de Barcelona y nacional de Catalunya

Wednesday, October 1, 2014, 7:30 PM, BHS – Bratislava Music Festival
Concert Hall of SPh,
Price: 30, 26, 22 €
Orquestra simfònica de Barcelona i nacional de Catalunya

Pablo González, conductor
Juan Manuel Cañizares, guitar

Enrique Granados
Joaquín Rodrigo
Isaac Albéniz
Manuel de Falla
Goyescas, intermezzo
Concierto de Aranjuez pre gitaru a orchester
Evocación, Triana y El Albaicín / arr. Enrique F. Arbós
The Three-Cornered Hat / El sombrero de Tres Picos– Suites No. 1 and No. 2
After two-year interval we have again an opportunity to be carried away by southern temperament – this time thanks to the Spanish guests from Barcelona with a respected conductor Pablo González. The soloist, guitarist and composer Juan Manuel Cañizares brings the iconic work Concierto de Aranjuez of the blind musician Joaquín Rodrigo into the programme. Music of the multicultural Pyrenean peninsula has been attractive and inspiring from the time immemorial. Enrique Granados has appealed also to America – his opera Goyescas was performed with great success in the U.S.A. Isaac Albéniz, a prodigy child of Mozartean kind, has stunned pianists by his almost unplayable cycle Iberia, which literally calls for a copious instrumentation. Manuel de Falla was a leading personality in Spain at the turn of the 20th century. His stay in Paris was of a great advantage for him, too, and Parisians were fascinated by his Andalusian emotionality. The ballet Three-Cornered Hat was created for Paris and even the celebrated painter Pablo Picasso collaborated on it.