Daniel Raiskin

Weber Chopin Saint-Saëns

Thursday, June 15, 2023, 7:00 PM, Season Cycle A
Concert Hall of SPh,
Price: 16, 13 €
Slovak Philharmonic
Daniel Raiskin conductor
Jonathan Fournel piano
Marek Vrábel organ
Carl Maria von Weber
Fryderyk Chopin
Camille Saint-Saëns
Oberon Overture
Piano Concerto No. 1 in E minor, Op. 11
Symphony No. 3 in C minor, Op. 78 Organ Symphony

The evening will begin with an overture by Carl Maria von Weber. In a competition for the most popular piano concerto, Frédéric Chopin‘s First Piano Concerto would certainly be among the top contenders. The piece is a series of thrilling piano scenes. The final concert of the season for the Slovak Philharmonic will culminate in Camille Saint-Saëns‘ Symphony, which has been dubbed the Organ Symphony due to its use of the organ. “I put everything I could into it. What I accomplished, I will never achieve again,” said the composer of the work.
The virtuoso piano part will be performed by the young Belgian Jonathan Fournel, while Marek Vrábel will take on the central organ part. The orchestra will be led by its chief conductor Daniel Raiskin for the last time before the summer break.