Daniel Raiskin, Pablo Ferrández

Turina Bloch Prokofiev

Thursday, December 8, 2022, 7:00 PM, Season Cycle A
Concert Hall of SPh,
Price: 16, 13 €
Slovak Philharmonic
Daniel Raiskin conductor
Pablo Ferrández cello
Joaquín Turina
Ernest Bloch
Sergei Prokofiev
Danzas fantásticas, Op. 22
Schelomo, Rhapsodie Hébraïque for Violoncello and Orchestra
Romeo and Juliet, Selection from Ballet Suites

Sevillian Joaquín Turina, who was born on December 9, 1882 (making Friday’s concert a celebration of his birthday) is an important figure in the field of Spanish national music. The music of Danzas fantásticas is inspired by short stories from the Seville environment from the book La Orgia by José Más. Ernest Bloch‘s Hebrew Rhapsody is marked by the events of the First World War, but at the same time contains the composer’s research into Jewish traditions. The texts of King Solomon from the book of Ecclesiastes with the main idea “everything is vanity” are the basis of the composition. Sergei Prokofiev‘s original ballet music was transformed over time into three orchestral suites. Shakespeare’s love story of a young couple takes on sharper contours with each note of the suite.
Some call him a new cello genius, others praise his technical maturity and charm: expectations for Pablo Ferrandéz‘s performance and his debut with the Slovak Philharmonic can be set as high as possible.

Concert in cooperatin with Spanish Embassy.