Auditions for the position Double Bass Player, Viola Player

35 SF SFZ James Judd_Jan Vacik 01 06 2018 © jan.f.lukas

Slovak Philharmonic CEO announces auditions for the position

– player in the group of Double Bass
– player in the group of Viola

Entry Salary € 950-1 160 (Based on Contestant Professional Experience)

Auditions will be held on:

– Double Bass Player on on March 18, 2019 at 2:30 PM
– Viola Player on on March 27, 2019 at 2:30 PM
at the Concert Hall of the Slovak Philharmonic, Medená 3, 816 01 Bratislava.

Required musical education: University degree in the relevant field

Detailed conditions of the auditions are published on the website of the Slovak Philharmonic:, see below
The orchestral extracts to be prepared for the Slovak Philharmonic auditions, see below

Please send your applications along with an artistic CV until March 4th, 2019 at the address:

Slovenská filharmónia
Medená 3
816 01 Bratislava
or by electronic mail to:

The Slovak Philharmonic will provide candidates with an accompanist (piano tuning 442);
candidates can also arrange an own piano accompaniment at their own expense.

prof. Marian Lapšanský
Slovak Philharmonic CEO

Audition conditions for the position
– Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra Double Bass player

1. Compulsory piece:

S. Koussevitzky – Double Bass Concerto in F-sharp minor, Op.3, Movements 1., 2.

2. Contestant’s  Free Choice

3. Sight-reading (a prima vista):

W. A. Mozart – Symphony No. 40 in G Minor K. 550
L. van Beethoven– Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op.67
– Symphony No. 9 d mol op. 125
H. Berlioz – Symphonie Fantastique, Op. 14
J. Cikker – Memories, Op. 25

Audition conditions for the position
– Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra Viola player

1. Compulsory piece:

One selected movement including Candence from following Concerts :

F. A. Hoffmeister – Viola Concerto in D Major
K. F. Stamitz – Viola Concerto in D Major

1. movement selection from following concertos:

B. Bartók – Viola Concerto
W. Walton – Viola Concerto
P. Hindemith – Viola Concerto Schwanendreher

2. Selected Orchestra parts from:

L. van Beethoven – Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op.67, Movement 2.
J. Brahms –Variations on a Theme by Haydn, Op.56, Variation No 4., 7.,  8.
A. Bruckner  – Symphony No. 4 in E Flat Major, Movement 2.
P. I. Tchaikovsky – Symphony No.6 in B Minor, Movement 1.
G. Mahler – Symphony No.  10, Movement 1.
F. Mendelssohn Bartholdy – A Midsummer Night’s Dream
W. A. Mozart – The Marriage of Figaro Overture
W .A. Mozart – Symphony No. 40 in G Minor K. 550, Movement 4.
R. Strauss – Don Juan

Double Bass: Press on the link  for your instrument to download a orchestral extracts copy package.

Viola: Press on the link for your instrument to download a orchestral extracts copy package.